zen garden screenshot

From Zen Garden to WordPress

In the fall of 2015, I took a web design class. There I learned the ins-and-outs of writing in HTML5 and CSS as well as the greater web design process. In the last two years, I’ve continued to learn and expand on these skills by working on a made-from-scratch portfolio, which has expanded my horizons to the shores of JavaScript. This homemade portfolio is currently my pet project. To get by in the meantime, I’ve become an expert in WordPress, using it for both the Writing Center blog, and my portfolio site (as you see it now).

DreamWeaver was my primary hypertext markup program, but I found a new love for Atom after graduation. Initially, I downloaded Atom because student subscriptions to Adobe CC unfortunately end. However, Atom and its many IDE-like plug-ins has quickly won me over. I have also worked with other web-based WYSIWYGs such as Wix and Squarespace.

Coding for web is one of my passions. I love wire-framing layouts, bringing them to life on screen, and creating the content that fills them. Web designing with integrity and art is something I enjoy learning and improving on everyday. I enjoy the collaborative coder community and finding the perfect plug-in for my projects. There’s something new to learn every day.

If you’d like a copy of the zipped files for the CSS Zen Garden or the final project for that class, please contact me.

 

Leave a Reply

